Connected and Autonomous Vehicle Information Portal

Valeo take home Top Honors for Automotive Innovations Announced at CES 2019

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

LAS VEGASJan. 10, 2019 /PRNewswire/ — The car shopping experts at Edmunds today announced the winners of the second annual Edmunds CES Tech Driven Awards program honoring innovative automotive technologies debuting at CES 2019. Taking home honors this year are electric car startup Byton, Hyundai’s Elevate concept vehicle and Valeo’s XtraVue Trailer.

“As automakers strive to transform themselves into mobility companies of the future, and automotive technology increasingly becomes an extension of our homes and offices, it makes a lot of sense that automakers and suppliers descend on CES to debut their latest and greatest,” said Alistair Weaver, editor-in-chief at Edmunds. “The winners of this year’s Edmunds CES Tech Driven Awards are no exception, and they deftly combine practical innovation for today’s vehicles with the exciting potential of tomorrow that CES is known for.”

Valeo XtraVue Trailer 
Designed to eliminate the large blind spot when towing a trailer, this system pairs the vehicle’s rearview camera with another camera placed at the rear of the trailer and combines two feeds into a single image using augmented reality techniques. This tech allows the driver to see what is behind and around the trailer via a live view in the infotainment screen or rearview mirror. It’s a practical yet forward-thinking solution that uses technology to improve towing safety and should be available soon as a factory option.

The Edmunds CES Tech Driven Awards honor the most innovative automotive technologies, vehicles, concepts or products debuting at CES by official CES exhibitors. The awards function as a “best-in-show” recognition of exhibitors that Edmunds editors believe have the greatest combination of innovation, creativity, future potential and actual deployment.

Edmunds will announce the second phase of the Tech Driven Award program later in February. These awards will recognize the three automakers that have done the best job of integrating state-of-the-art technology into currently available vehicles, and will be presented in three categories: In-Car Features, Engineering Technology Features, and Safety or Driving Aids.

See the full article here


Comments are closed.